Some people argue that the fittest and strongest individuals and teams can achieve the greatest success in sports. But other people think that success is much related to mental attitude. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

From the last 4 decades, sports have been a vital source of entertainment for most people. Spectators have indifferent views when it comes to being successful in sports; while some believe that a positive outlook can overshadow weak physique, others support the opposite view. This essay

will converse about both the views and will argue why having a positive attitude is superior to extreme physical fitness.

Outdoor games demand players to have robust health in order to stand, run or jump for an extended period. Owing to such needs, it is obvious that unless a professional player is unable to meet such demands, it less likely to achieve great success in such sports. Apparently, the teams who have exceptionally healthy players, win titles during rigorous events. Real Madrid football club, for instance, has won multiple football titles because of being a team of the strongest and healthiest players. Due to the multiple victories of healthy teams, people tend to believe that physical fitness is indispensable for success in sports.

Despite such examples, I and many others still think that optimism is a key factor to achieve success in sports. Many a time, a weak opponent has successfully subdued their stronger competitor via their perseverance and mental attitude. For instance, Bangladesh during the 2009 Cricket World Cup conquered India which was considered as a top 3 teams for the finals by their sheer optimism and strategy. In addition to this, people like Karloy Takkas have won Olympic gold twice even after having their arm amputated again by the virtue of sound mental health. Therefore, such examples reinforce the fact that who important a team or a person’s outlook matter during games.

In conclusion, although being strong can help a team to endure longer in a game, it is the mentally sound and optimistic team that clinches the victory despite being at the brink of defeat just because of its persistence to win or an attitude to keep moving forward.