Some people believe that children’s leisure activities must be educational, otherwise they are a complete waste of time. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your experience

It has been a long debated discussion in both schools as well as at home if children’s leisure activities should focus only on acquiring knowledge or it does not really matter if a child learns or not during their pastime. With ever-increasing competition in the society, I believe that children’s hobbies must undoubtedly designed in a way that they both learn and enjoy at the same time.

Leisure activities, firstly, are an important and integral part of a child’s overall development. During this time, a child both enjoys what he is doing and also does not take the activity as a usual academic one’s with mental stress. Therefore, if a child is taught to acquire a hobby which is both educational and enjoyable, then he can take maximum advantage of it. Singapore, for instance, has encouraged both the academic institutions and parents to make the younger generation play with robots, as they understand that robotics is going to be a part of our future and thus, it can be the best pastime for children. Competitive society, secondly, requires the younger generation to have a vast knowledge on various fields of life. Consequently, students who use their leisure time productively are expected to have better future prospects.

Non-educational leisure time, on the other hand is advocated by some people, as they believe that children must be allowed to do whatever they enjoy, especially, after spending long working hours at the school. This opinion, according to me is not a right option, as it leads to child’s unproductive hours and may also result in acquiring unhealthy leisure activities, such as, playing addictive video games or watching inappropriate TV series.

From the above argument, it can be concluded that to yield maximum benefits and to have optimum mental development of a child, their pastime must, beyond any doubt be both educational and enjoyable.