Some people believe that the good leaders are born, whereas others hold the opinion that the leadership qualities could be obtained during the life. Who represents the good leader qualities indeed?

It is commonly believed that great leaders are born to be a leader. However, it is also considered by some that good leadership attributes can be learn in life. I fully advocate for the latter statement because i believe experience is the best teacher.

To begin with, there is no denying the fact that some people are just naturally blessed with the qualities of a good leader. For example, the trait theory which believe that certain people are born or made with some particular qualities that will make them to excel in leadership role, Such people have the ability to inspire others in a variety of ways which includes passion, integrity, courage, sense of responsibility,creativity and humility to name a few that are already pre existing in such individuals. As a result of this, attributes they posses they are considered a born leader.

On the other hand, leaders are made not born. Firstly, behavioral theories believe that people can become leaders through the process of teaching, learning, and observation, this we can definitely all agree with that learning and experience can make a good leader after all leadership is of the heart rather than the head. Secondly, the transformation leadership theory states that an individual can obtain leadership qualities by interacting with others and able to create a solid relationship that results in a high percentage of trust. This will later lead to increase of motivation, both intrinsic and extrinsic in both leaders and followers. Finally, the trait theory was refuted due to the shortfalls in the analyses which categorically said no individual is born with such trait.

In conclusion, although some folks still argues that leaders are born naturally with such leadership qualities. I believe that leadership is a set of skills that can be learned by training, perception, practice and experience.