Some people believe that the higher a product is priced, the more likely it is that people will want to buy it.

To what extent does price influence potential buyers?

What other factors influence people to buy a product?

There is no doubt that people spend a lot of time shopping in their spare time. Some individuals believe that higher the cost for a product, the more buyer’s it may attract. This essay will firstly, outline the extent to which customers are influenced by the value of a commodity and secondly, other important factors such as, quality and discounts, that also impacts a customer’s buying decision.

It is highly likely that most shoppers are significantly impacted by the price of a product. This is because individuals believe that, the more expensive the product, the more status this can offer them in society. To illustrate, Kareena Kapoor, a famous Indian actress, would desire to purchase a pair of jeans from Gucci, which is a famous international brand, since the clothing they offer is expensive and not affordable by lower income groups of people and hence signifying an individual’s wealth and prosperity. In short, higher priced goods attract customers with higher income capacity.

However, many shoppers would also consider other factors such as, quality and offers, when making a purchase. This is because they believe shopping to be an investment and hence would want long lasting products. Furthermore, customers also view for discounts as this gives them an opportunity to avail expensive products at a lesser rate. To cite an example, the number of buyers would be more during sale seasons in malls to avail the discount benefits.

In conclusion, although price plays an important role in buying a product, higher priced goods attract individuals with high earnings. While buyers also consider quality and discounts as this gives them as sense of surety for their money.