Some people believe that sport is an essential part of school life for children,while others feel it should be purely optional.

Many schools have implemented compulsory physical activities as part of their curriculum. While some individuals believe it should be rightly so, others feel every child has to choose whether or not to participate. My opinion is that every child should be exposed to some form of sport to encourage the habit of exercising.

One of the reasons some individuals may feel sports should be optional is that some children are bad at sports and might easily get injured doing it. Children should partake in activities that are pleasing to them, instead of wasting time doing what they dislike. An example is a secondary school classmate of mine who was forced to join a football team. He not only played terribly and caused his team to lose, but also ended up getting injured. The pain was severe, so he required admission at a federal hospital in our community where he received treatment for 2 weeks.

However, the importance of sports is to encourage the habit of exercising. Unless these activities are forcefully included, most young people will not exercise. They spend most of their time in front of electronic devices, either watching the television or playing video games. In a recent research conducted by University of Michigan, results showed a significant increase in the number of obese children. The inactivity of children has led to many dying from weight related conditions. A sad victim was my neighbor Uche, who passed away last week from a condition related to sedentary living.

To conclude,although children should be given the chance to pick which sport to participate in, they should not have the option of not doing any sport. This is because physical activities are important and should be a part of everyone’s daily routine.