Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Discuss the both these views and give your own opinion.

It is rightly said criminals are not born, circumstance lead to the person become the criminal. So, it is vital to consider the situation under what the crime has been executed. However, many adepts argue that there should be fixed punishment for each type of crime irrespective of the motive behind it. I discord the statement and would like to represent valid arguments to understand both the aspect and in support of my inclination.

Based on the report of many surveys conducted on the criminal, it has been revealed that between 30-40% of the crime has been attempted under the pressure of circumstance and without having any visible motive. For instance, many a time a murder can be attempted in order to do self-defence or to save someone's life. Secondly, there are many underdeveloped and developing countries where crime rate is increasing tremendously. There are specific crime like theft, shoplifting, kidnapping, snatching, prostitution are flourishing in order to earn livelihood. When we analyse the motive behind the crime, we would find that 70% crime out of mentioned above has been done due to poverty, lake of employment and for survival. These are one of the root cause of many crime flourished today. To exemplify, if we consider the survey rolled out on the terrorists during terror attacks, we will come to know that many terrorists are young and misguided due to the lake of education , poverty and unemployment. To reduce the crime due to basic reasons, legislations need to be provided with consideration of situation and motive behind. If evidence supports the person, he should be treated with mercy than professional criminals so that we can serve mankind and save society from increase number of criminals.

On the other hand, there are many crimes which are considers as sins in eye of mankind. For instance, sedition, rape, child abusing, human trafficking and so on. The victim of this crime is not get hurt only physically but also disturbs psychologically. Such offences are black spot for the society and should not be forgiveable at all. In such case, criminal should be treated with the utter sentences which can spread a lesson for others so that it would not be conducted by anyone else.

All in all, strong and fair jurisdiction would be the base of safety and security of the country and its citizen. so, in my strongly believe that the legislation should be designed to help the people not to increase the anarchy of the society. so, there must be different approach for different situation which can lead to give the true justice for the offence.