Some people consider art to be essential and others think it is not. Which view do you agree with and why?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

While art is claimed to be unnecessary for the society by some, others do not agree with the argument. As for me, I would state that art is significantly important for everyone because of the following reasons.

Firstly, art is a powerful source of relaxation. It helps thousands of people who suffer from depressions and anxiety. When people paint, they use different colours to express their negative emotions, painful memories, feelings on the paper. This process helps people fight anger, loss, and look at the situation from the different angle. For example, psychologists often use art-therapy and colour therapy working with clients, especially minors, to help them visualize their issues and, thus, fix them.

Moreover, art is essential in educational purposes. These days, numerous galleries are filled with multiple kinds of pieces of art, each of which has its unique story and style. Being had made by different known and unknown artists, they can show the current generation things that existed before and are not available to be seen in real time. For example, art gives us an opportunity to see faces of not only famous scientists, politicians or royalty, but also represent the lifestyle people had centuries ago. This way children learn about their history and cultures, and the experience of long-gone civilizations, like Ancient Egypt with its mummies, or Ancient Greece with its marvellous statues of Gods.

To conclude, art plays a valuable role in peoples lives letting them to express their emotions, creativity and pass their knowledge and experiences for the future.