Some people consider thinking about and planning for the future to be a waste of time. They argue that people should simply live in the moment. Do you agree or disagree? Use at least one personal example in your response

Making future plans is an inevitable and subconsciously practiced act. It argued that this practice is a total waste of time and that people should simply live in the moment rather than thinking and making plans for the future. I agree that making plans for the future is one of the major determinants of life’s success. This will be shown by analyzing the avoidance in the wastage of resources and meeting opportunities with preparedness.

Firstly, building future plans helps one avoid wasting resources and to live within their means. For instance, I remember a time I planned my feeding and transportation budget for three consecutive months, spending irrationally on frivolities was totally ruled out. This improved my quality of life because I was comfortable all through the months. Thus, this proves the positives of thinking and planning ahead.

More also, being prepared and ready to take on opportunities is an outcome of making future plans. An example will be shown in the life of my cousin who has always wanted to be a journalist. He always made plans ahead, did private and public interview rehearsals, listens to news podcasts and tries to make a report. There was an opening in a highly reputable news reporting firm several months later, and he was selected because of the incredible scores recorded from his interview. Hence, it is without doubt that planning for the future is a stepping stone to living a successful life.

As clearly illustrated above, rather than enjoying and living life as it comes, It is better to engage in making future plans. A fulfilling and successful life is guaranteed. I recommend that the argument be debunked, and young people should be encouraged and educated on the benefits of living a well planned life.