Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisement tells us about new products that may improve our lives.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The main purpose of advertising is to provide information of products and services. It provides useful information which benefits consumers to find the right product at their convenient place. Advertising is one of the essential parts of marketing which essential thing which add plus point for a successful business. I do agree that to some extent advertisement attract customers towards unnecessary items that is useless but for those who are wise it is a beneficial tool for shopping.

On one hand, advertisements create awareness for the consumers to choose varieties of product and services which might be useful. For instance, consumers buy the newspaper, get discounts catalogue to find out the cheapest price in different stores. For those parent doesn't have a time they can buy lunch for themselves and other members of the family under single store after going through the special catalogue which helps save time to find out which product is on special.

On the other hand, advertising will make people spend more in those things which are not necessary for them. For example, whenever a person see specials like buy 1 and get the second one for half price they will buy two and pay extra money for the second one and they might not use the second item. Advertising is a good tool for the business but sometimes it is hard for people who are not wise for selecting their shopping list.

As a whole, advertisement a key to success for any business and it might be beneficial if you are a wise shopper, however if you can’t control yourself if you see unnecessary specials then you should use your brain.