Some people say that at all levels of education, from primary school to university, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills.

Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that there is a lot of time spent on teaching core subjects, and children can’t have enough time on learning a subject which has content related to soft skills. Personally, I totally agree with this opinion

The main reason for focusing so much time on practical learning in school is that there is a huge amount of theoretical knowledge in any subject. In some countries, their annual curricula are prioritized for more important subjects, so the reality is that they will possess a huge amount of knowledge. And there are huge obstacles for both pupils and teachers. While teachers will think about how to compete teaching their own subject which is mentioned on an annual study program, children also have to remember any lesson and study hard in order to get the best result in the final exam. As a result, some teachers, who serve in educating a subsidiary subject, won’t have enough time to lecture on any practical skill.

Another reason for describing this phenomenon is that children lack attention in some subjects which teach practical skills . Students often find it easy for them to concentrate on many core subjects because they are fascinating, which they can’t figure out on the hour lecture of the subsidiary subject. As a result, they won’t improve their practical skills because of not enough time. Moreover, Any subject which teaches about learning facts also has a competition, which is attracting many gifted students to participate in and it doesn’t happen in these subsidiary subjects. For instance, the international olympiad is one of the most popular competitions for

gifted students in a core subject

To conclude, not only do most educational structures have a priority in teaching fact, it causes many students to ignore the role of studying practical skills on subsidiary subjects. Consequently, I agree that it is a real problem for each country to resolve.