Some people say that in all levels of education from primary to university, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Do you agree or disagree?

Being skillful is the rudimentary need of survival in this contemporary epoch, however it is generally seen that rather than pragmatic knowledge, most of the time is being utilised on inculcating theoretical knowledge in majority of the educational institutions from primary to tertiary level. I also believe the same because of lack of infrastructure at these places as well as deficit of skilled tutors.

The prominent reason behind this approach is the poor infrastructure. In other words, in most of the schools and universities, laboratories are not well established where children can be taught and made to perform practicals. Further, if workshops exist, then proper equipments are not provided, especially in public schools where the situation is even worse. For example, in most of the government owned schools in India, Student of primary and secondary levels have never been taken to any computer laboratory according to the report of 'The Hindu'. Thereby, despite being living in technological world, there is lack of skilled workforce.

Another worth mentioning reason is the absence of presence of industrious mentors.To be precise, the professionals hired or working in these temples are actually amateurs. They themselves do not have required wisdom through which learners can broaden the horizon of their knowledge. To illustrate, in a viral video on Instagram, a teacher of engineering college was asked to write a program on computer in Java by an interviewer to which, she was unable to respond. Therefore, when trainers do not have required traits, how can we expect them to give Scientists, Doctors and Engineers to the society?

To conclude, I would like to reiterate by saying that government needs to come forward by taking steps like improving the infrastructure of the schools, colleges as well as universities along with hiring actual professionals with top notch talents. Also, more and more vocational training institutes should be opened.