Some studies suggest that children spend more time in front of TV than they did in the past and spend less on doing active and creative things. Why do you think this is happening? What methods and measures can be used to solve this issue?

In present epoch, sources of entertainment have changed exponentially as compared to bygone times. It is generally seen that rather than utilising time in innovative and mobile tasks, most of the time by teenagers is spent sitting in front of TV in this contemporary era. This essay discusses the major factor behind this phenomenon and also gauges some solutions.

The primary reason that can be attributed to this vogue is the busy schedule of parents. In other words, both the parents follow a hectic schedule, due to which, they are unable to devote time to monitor the activities of their offsprings. While children take undue advantage of the situation and spend more time watching TV instead of doing any useful work. For example, in earlier days, mothers used to stay at home just to look after their child and indulge him into mind sharpening activities such as playing games like sudoku, chess and other outdoor games, however situation today is different and has resulted into increased screen time. Therefore, the posterity is becoming lethargic and is suffering from physical as well as mental issues. Another worth mentioning reason is the lack of infrastructure. To be precise, cities have become concrete jungles, hardly leaving any space for parks and recreational activities. Thereby, nobody prefers stepping out of home and choose to view TV.

To counter this menace, firstly, parents need to ration the TV viewing hours of the children. Allowing them to watch it fo restricted time period would help to stop excessive use of TV. For instance, setting time to 1-2 hours would prevent children from sitting in front of TV for the whole day, as they would have fear of their parents. Hence, keeping an eye on this would assist to improve their habits. In addition to this, government should provide provision of parks and playgrounds availability of which would encourage teenagers to do outdoor activities.

To conclude, I would like to reiterate by saying that this habit of children not only affects their physical health but also mental health. So, government and parents both need to step forward for the betterment of upcoming generation.