Some people say that industrial growth is necessary to solve poverty, but some other people argue that industrial growth is creating environmental problems and it should be stopped. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent years, rapid industrialization is gaining a great deal of attention around the world. Surprisingly, it has become a bone of contention among the critics regarding its role, either it is eliminating poverty or it is exacerbating the environmental hazards. While some people consider detering industrial growth may help in sorting out the pollution, however, I would contend that industrialization is a sine qua non for fighting with poverty.

On the one hand, it is inevitable that in developing countries, the industries are growing without proper plan. As a result, waste management procedures are not being followed strictly and the environment pollution happens detrimentally. Furthermore, the industrialists are not following the Environmental Protection Acts at all. Therefore, it is posing huge health hazards to the mankind. For instance, the rapid growth of garments industries are contributing to the economy of Bangladesh, but on the other side, it is damaging the air as well as water quality irreversibly.

Conversely, for any developing country, the industrialization creates a lot of job opportunities to the unemployed people. Hence, poverty can be wiped out easily and livability index will be raised. In addition, with the increased industrial expansion, the economy will be smooth-running for any country. Consequently, the GDP will be raised due to increased cash flow to the country. The RMG sectors in Bangladesh, for example, contributing a lot in economy as well as it is reversing the extreme poverty for the last few decades.

All things considered, stopping industrialization cannot be a proper approach for handling environmental crisis. Personally, I believe, further in the future, the government should give more emphasis on industrial expansion, provided that environmental laws are implemented and practiced strictly.