Some people say Supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging for products they sell. Others believe that it is the consumer's responsibility to avoid buying products which have a lot of packaging.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Packaging is one of the biggest menace which is a by-product of civilization in this modern world. People, unknowingly are consuming heavy packaged products which increase the disposable waste and hence adversely affect the environment.

Supermarkets, I believe, is a major point of sale. The part they play to influence the consumer cannot be undermined. It is of paramount importance to understand that the packaging is required to give that extra degree of safety to the product which sometimes is a demand of the customer.

Contrary to the thought in the above paragraph, there is also a section of people who base their thoughts on the prominent point, demand generates supply. This goes without saying, if the section of the consumer would neglect a certain product because of the excess packaging, then of course, this would become a vicious circle which would eventually result in the end of product life cycle.

Finally, I believe that we should focus on the fact that if the demand of a certain product goes down then you would automatically see it vanishing from the sales stands. Hereby playing your part to support the already disturbed ecological imbalance. Nonetheless, I also firmly believe and stand by the statement "Be the change you want to see in the world". In this scenario, the onus definitely would lay on us to safeguard our environment and I am sure once the wheel starts rotating, it would gain traction and the Supermarkets would play their due role to perfection.