Some people think that activities of free-time should be planned while others disagree. Discuss both sides and include examples and relevant data from your own experience.

Effective spending of a day off, weekend or holidays has always been an issue for many people. While some of then, as well as me, believe that leisure activities should be planned in advance, others disagree with this claim. There are valid arguments from both sides, which will be discussed in this essay.

On the one hand, detailed planning for future activities may be significantly money-saving. For instance, according to my personal experience, the purchase of tickets for planes or trains will be not so much expensive in the case of six months before the trip. At the same time, in hot periods, such as summer or Christmas holidays, the cost of tickets may become astronomic and be not affordable for potential tourists. Further, having a complex strategy of holidays, such as an explicit route, seems to be significantly time-saving as well. For example, gathering information about the schedule of local public transport in a destination area may allow to avoid any delays on the way. Finally, due to an excellent plan, causes of the emergency situations may be mitigated or even prevented. For example, traveling to some place for holidays, people may gather extra information about emergency services in that area.

On the other hand, some people may mention the special term, namely, hot tickets, which may be bought in a very short period before holidays and be even cheaper than booking tickets in advance. However, this way has many disadvantages, due to the limitation of numbers of such tickets and places to visit. Further, some people tend to claim, that free-time activities without any arrangements, when somebody cannot imagine a place, which he or she visits tomorrow, may be intriguing, thrilling and, as a result, contributes to the effectiveness of relaxing.

All in all, despite the view of absence of necessity to plan free time, I would argue that organizing leisure time events berforehand would be more rational than spontaneous decisions.