Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some would argue that the best solution to reduce crime rate is by giving long imprisonment to criminals, while others say that there are other ways like rehabilitation. While sending criminals for longer duration in prison can reduce the crimes for sometime, I believe that such people should be rehabilitated to give a new meaning to their life.

Some say that if criminals are sent to jail for many years then it would decrease the number of such people from the society, which will ultimately lead to less crimes. This is because criminals tend to commit the same crime again. However, if they are in prison than they cannot harm the innocent people. For example, in Sri Lanka, person who is convicted of murder is sentenced imprisonment for 20 years and this has lead to decrease in murder related crimes. Although, this can cause the drop in criminals in the society, I believe that it cannot change the behavior of prisoner and can lead to more crime when they are set free as they become more aggressive.

On the other hand, it is thought that alternative methods like rehabilitation can change behavior of criminals and reduce crimes. This is because they can be given proper psychological counseling and vocational training to go back to the society as a new person. Additionally, they can also be provided with facility to pursue further education and this can help change their behavior. For example, in Switzerland, prisoners are rehabilitated with vocational training so that they can live their life easily when they complete their prison sentence and this has resulted in a decrease in crimes by the same criminals by 80%. I feel that by giving a new meaning to the life of these people can decrease crimes as their psychological state changes.

In conclusion, sentencing life imprisonment is not the best solution to reduce crime rates and focus should be made on developing skills and knowledge of criminals in order to modify their aggressive nature.