Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

These days crime rate is on rising side, different sorts of crimes are being conducted in various countries. There is a mix opinion regarding how to overcome this problem, few believe harsh punishment to be way out, while on the other-hand some analyst want to analyse the core issues of the problem. this essay will discuss both opinions of how to control crime rate.

Every nation has its own set of culture and problems. In continent of Africa, reasons for committing crime are different as compared to other continents. Conventional method of overcoming crime is to have harsh punishment for criminals. However, on numerous occasions harsh punishment has reduced crime rate, as people tend to fear law, but here different type of questions rise; is it the only way out?, what if wrong person is punished?, what is possibility of having some valid reason that lead to crime being committed?. These questions have caused society to think about other methods to minimize crime rate.

Furthermore, in order to reduce crime rate, it is better to find the root cause and fix it. Few analysts believe poverty, unemployment and peer pressure to be the main reason. Therefore, they believe it is important to overcome these issues, rather than just sending someone in long prison because this will only fix the problem in short run, but in long-run it will exaggerate further and cause more problems for the society.

In order to maintain law and order situation and reduce crime rate, it is important to focus on the root causes, as people who commit crimes are either in difficult position or under some sort of influence. Therefore,in my opinion it is better to fix it by catering the root cause rather than making punishment harsh.