Some people think that competitive sport should be included as a subject in school, while others believe that it has negative effect on children. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, It has become a debatable topic whether schools ought to incorporate any sports-subject in curriculum or not. A few people insist on adding sport as a subject in schools, whereas others think that it may create relatively detrimental effects on students. This essay intends to discuss a benefit, and secondly, possible harm on the children’s mentality through such sports. I, however, agree with the latter view.

One the one hand, proponents of a sports subject in the syllabus see this phenomenon as a positive one. Basically, they believe that if children take part in various competitive games, the mind and the physique both will develop significantly. The main reason for this is it will require lots of physical and mental efforts; as a result, they will become stronger. For example, a recent report concluded that children who took part in various sports competitions actively outperformed the rest.

On the contrary, some individuals are concerned with this sense of competition at a very early age. It is a proven fact that once a child starts performing exceptionally, their parents’ have more expectations from them; however, such enthusiasm might create an additional burden in pioneering the field. The reason behind this is children always find themselves in a stressful environment in order to fulfil their parent's wishes; as a consequence, such conditions may distort their mental state, and eventually, they lose their creativity.

In summary, there are those who say that all schools should think about involving a subject of sport in the syllabus because of its potential advantages; nevertheless, other people are not in favour of such a phenomenon. My opinion is that primary schools should avoid their students from stiff competition since it has many cons on the children’s mind-set.