Some people think that employers should not care about the way their employees dress, because what matters is the quality of their work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a positive change that by contrast to decades ago employers now have better awareness of their human rights and individual freedom, and their benefits are more well-protected than ever before. While it seems employees enjoy more freedom without a dress code, I believe that certain guidance and instructions are needed for the sake of both employers and employees.

Many employees who hold a more liberal opinion argue that as respect to human rights, management team should not interfere with their dress styles. The cancellation of dress code is the millstone and a remarkable step towards a more employee-friendly company. Furthermore, instead of more constraints, free dress style helps inspire talented employers to have more creative mind and as a result to produce genius designs and products that top the industry. Google, a world leading technology company, for example, gives more personal space and flexibility to the engineers.

In my opinion, in spite of the arguments above, I support that a well-planed dress code instruction benefits every individual in the company from workers to board members. Not just employees, clients also visit the public open space frequently, which implies the dress style has a significant impact on the first impression the clients hold towards the company. Moreover, every employee who share the same workspace should take their responsibilities to maintain a pleasing and comfortable working environment. Even if to some extent, a more conservative dressing regulation make employees have less freedom, an employee dressed with well consideration makes the company a more pleasant place to work.

In conclusion, having a suitable dress code, as long as taking the well-being of the employees into consideration, is a professional practice for any corporates.