Some people think that human history has been a journey from ignorance to knowledge. Others argue that this underestimates the achievements of ancient cultures, and overvalues our achievements. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Journey of human evolution

Human history has always been quite an interesting to learn. The transition from ape to the human being is undoubtedly excursion from ignorance to enlightenment. This progress has been innovating more and more over the years. In older times, humans have invented several things such as fire, artefacts, sign language, etc. They have achieved many greater heights in the ancient era. Even built Seven Wonders of World without technological support. This analogy applies to all fields right from farming to medical discoveries.

There is historical belief that the achievements of man have been based on the journey of knowledge. However, the statistics say that ancient mankind did make notable contributions towards the modern civilizations and motivated them to evolve further. Even today despite acquiring boundless limits, scientists from every industry still trying to figure out secrets of the Primeval period. From this point of view, it looks like as if we have been just enhancing their achievements.

Based on these two brief discussions, my opinion is that it is hard to say which one might be true, as there are two angles to both theories. Although there is no huge difference in the way brains worked in previous generations and now. In simple words earlier generation was genius and today's is intellectual as well as smarter. In the end, the value of ancient human being's contributions to the modern mankind's intellect evolution is enormous.

In my view, however, there is no comparison between what we can achieve today and what people even two hundred years ago could achieve as we now know so much more. The vast majority of people in developed countries are able to benefit from an education system, standard of living, healthcare and life expectancy that are so much more advanced than ever before. It is my opinion that although we must remember and respect ancient cultures, modern-day achievements have brought us to the peak of human civilisation.