Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged.

Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete

become more useful adults.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is no doubt that both competition skills and cooperation skills are of vital importance for students. However, while some believe that developing a competitive child is significant, I would agree with those who feel that it is more prominent to improve cooperation among children.

Considering firstly the positives of competitions, a crucial one is that

it provides children with motivation towards hard work. This is because healthy rivalry tend to encourage students to achieve their targets and outdo their peers. Another important advantage for such a competitive environment is that students are likely to gain a sense of responsibility and become more self-dependent since they are require to solve puzzles, games and other problems on their own. Therefore, when they face a future challenging situation as a job interview, they will be able to manage it more efficiently; thus, they are more prepared to lead a successful life.

As for the cooperation kills, I do believe that they are even more substantial in many aspects of future work life. To illustrate, whereas employees are required to participate in teamwork, follow their manager's instructions and support other junior colleagues, only those with cooperation skills will perform efficiently in workplace. In contrast, if schools adopts the win-lose principal in children's education, they will be lacking cooperation potentials; hens, incapable of becoming efficient employees in the future. Moreover, with regard to social life, a healthy community should include members who are interacting positively and cooperatively with each other. This would indeed enhance harmony and boost sociability.

In conclusion, teaching children through contests is beneficial in terms of promoting motivation, responsibility and dependency among them. Nevertheless, I feel that cooperation is the most powerful approach to prepare students for adults life as it empower them with essential skills to succeed in their career and become devoted citizens.