Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Currently there is a contentious argument that whether the children should be taught to compete or co-operate with each other. In the following contemplation I will discuss that why I believe that co-operation should be encouraged rather than competition among kids.

Team-work and leadership qualities are the two most important benefits of teaching co-operation to adolescents. The kids should be encouraged to get involved equally for solving any group activity so that they learn to build trust amongst themselves. For instance, according to a research the school kids in Japan were found to outperform the kids from Britain in physics Olympiad when the Japanese kids were taught the value of co-operation and team work. Moreover, when the students study by forming small group discussion teams, they also learn to stand alone and express their viewpoint more confidently. Therefore, this helps them in developing leadership qualities.

On the contrary, others believe that a sense of competition is necessary so that the students try to gain more marks than their peers. However, encouraging competition has two major drawbacks that includes jealousy and inferiority complex. Constant comparison with the peers gives rise to jealousy in the students who score less. Moreover, constant low scores might even give rise to low self-esteem and thus result in inferiority complex in children. For example, a research indicated that percentage based examinations resulted in inferiority complex in kids who constantly scored less.

In conclusion, I reiterate that it is important to encourage co-ordination and co-operation among the children as it helps them to build team spirit and leadership qualities. Whereas a sense of competition shall be discouraged as it might lead to negative feelings among kids such as jealousy and inferiority complex.