Some people believe that having a conversation on a mobile phone in a public or crowded place should be banned. Others feel that we should be able to talk wherever we like. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Currently there is a contentious argument over banning of conversation on a mobile phone in a public or crowded place. While some people believe that loud conversations in public places can be a constant nuisance for the people relaxing in the vicinity, however, others believe that it is a violation of their right for freedom of speech and movement. In this essay I will discuss both the views and give my opinion.

Beyond any qualms there are a myriads of logical rationales that prove that speaking in a high pitch voice on a mobile phone in public places could be a source of anguish amidst the people sitting in the vicinity. It can disturb the mental peace and lead to disruption of the personal space of the people sitting nearby. For example, loud phone chit chat can disturb the relaxation time of a senior citizen or might end up annoying a mother whose baby has just fallen asleep. Therefore, banning mobile conversations in outpatient waiting area and some other public places should be a mandate condition.

On the contrary, others believe that complete ban on conversations in public places is not appropriate. Our constitution gives us the right for freedom of speech and movement. Such laws are practically difficult to follow as one might end up missing some important phone call regarding an emergency situation such as health deterioration of a family member or an important interview call. Therefore, it is impractical to impose such stringent rules regarding banning speaking in communal areas.

In conclusion, I believe that banning mobile chats in public places is an impractical approach. Instead signboards mentioning to remain polite and not converse loudly in certain public places such as hospitals where it is mandatory can be done. However, it is impractical to put a complete ban on conversing on mobile phone in other public places such as airports and bus stand. Would such a ban be followed by the public? Still remains a question.