Some people think that shops should sell the food items of local market rather then selling foods of other countries.

Do you agree or disagree?

In this era of globalisation, variety of eatables are available throughout the globe, especially packaged foods. Some people opine that shopkeepers should sell only locally procured food items instead of selling imported food products. I agree with their opinion because by selling local foods shop owners can contribute to the economy of their nation as well as save people from becoming unhealthy.

If shopkeepers emphasize on selling local produce, like vegetables and fruits, they can help in boosting the economy of their country. This is because, demand of local products will rise with their increased sale, and farmers will be able to sell their produce at genuine prices to the vendors. This will increase their margins, and they will be able to earn more profits. When local farmers are left with more money, they will be able to live a happy and prosperous life. In agrarian countries, such as India, where majority of population consists of farmers, rise in their living standard means that country is economically strong. Thus, local stores can play a large role in making their country stronger in monetary terms by promoting local foods.

However, some people argue that imported foods can provide lot of choices to the individuals because they can enjoy non-seasonal fruits and vegetables during the entire year. I somewhat agree with their argument, but processed foods could be detrimental for the health of the consumers. These type of eatables contains many preservatives and additives. By consuming these foods, people could suffer from different kind of diseases. Recent researches have shown that processed foods can cause allergies and cancer to its consumers. Therefore, shopkeepers should desist themselves from selling any kind of imported food products that could be harmful for the citizens and promote native food products.

To conclude, shopkeepers selling local eatables can contribute in building their whole country economically strong. Nevertheless, imported eatables could provide lot of choices to the people, but at the cost of their health. I believe that shopkeepers should sell local foods only.