Some say that the internet is making the world smaller by bringing people together. To what extent do to you agree that the internet is making it easier for people to communicate with one another?

There is a considerable emphasis placed on making the world a smaller place. According to some, the internet is the backbone of this. I strongly agree with the idea that communication barriers have been drastically reduced due to the rapid development of the internet. Let us examine the role of the internet in creating a global village.

Firstly, it is undeniable that nowadays, technology is enhancing peoples' lives than ever before. Inter-personnel communication is mostly happening via cyber-space rather than face-to-face. For instance, decades ago, it was letters, and telegrams which disseminate information. Later the telephone took over the control of messaging and now we are in the era of Whatsapp, Viber and many other communication services.

Secondly, excessive usage of these free messaging services has made people closer together despite distance limitations. Within just a matter of seconds now we can connect with almost anybody in the world. Moreover, since most of these services are free, it has dramatically decreased the communication costs. Furthermore, the internet has created millions of new opportunities, especially in the tech industry. People are now working remotely and earning virtual currencies such as Bitcoin and reshaping not only the communication but also the world economy as well.

However, It would be deemed neglect of the negative sides of this development. Social and health issues are increasing exponentially worldwide as a result of heavy usage of the internet. Recent research disclosed that over 80% of youngsters are addicted to these online chat and messaging services affecting their education.

To recapitulate, while the world is becoming a global village, it is imperative to understand the drawbacks and use the internet responsibly to get the maximum benefits.