Some say that music, art and drama are as important as other school subjects,
especially at the primary level.
Do you agree or disagree?
It is argued that the arts are just as valid as the other subjects, especially for primary
school children. This essay agrees with that statement and will first discuss how
some students flourish when studying music, art or drama and then talk about how
maths and science are not crucial at primary level.
Not everyone has a talent for mathematics, physics or languages and many students
only do their best work when they can be creative. In fact, many pupils simply cannot
focus on traditional subjects unless they are expressing themselves creatively
through painting, song or dance. Take Gillian Lynne for example, who at a young
age was told she had a learning difficulty, but in fact could not learn without moving
her body. Gillian, a typical kinesthetic learner, went on to become a world-famous
choreographer, but would have never have been a success without the
encouragement of her dance teacher.
Others would disagree with this view and say that art related subjects stop young
children from spending enough time on the more ‘serious’ subjects and passing
important exams. However, until children get to high school, it is more important for
them to have a good attitude towards education than passing tests. For instance, in
Finland, elementary school children do no tests at all and focus on all disciplines
equally. This allows children to choose the subjects they prefer and has been shown
to be one of the leading factors in them having the best education system in the
world.
In conclusion, painting, dance and acting should be given equal status in the primary
classroom because they allow artistic children to learn more effectively and it is
unwise to put pressure on children to pass maths and science exams at such a
young age.