Some students tend to play computer games rather than do sports. Why is this? What can be done to tackle the problem?

Nowadays gadgets play a huge role in people life. Sometimes people waste too much time on them. There is opinion, that children, teen-ager and students prefer to spend time playing computer games instead of going to the gym or playing active games. I have a feeling that it is true and it can have several reasons.

First of all, I suppose that students have plenty of free time to waste it on Internet and games, because it is too attractive, so you do not recognise that you have spent several hours in front of the screen. Games are created such way, that you want to finish them. When I was a student I enjoyed one computer game, which was called Zuma and had several levels. I spent five days and five nights playing and trying to finish this game. When I finished I understood that how long I was sitting here and it got me angry with me. Unlikely recent research shows us, that students waste more time with computer then 10 years ago.

Second of all, personal computers are cheap and easy to buy at this time. In each family there is computer and using them children become addicted to them. They tend to play with friends through Internet, make friends there and it does not require big effort like going out and making friends and playing with them in active games. For instance, son of my friends has a lot of friends in Internet, but does not any friends in real life. He spends all free time at home.

I have a feeling that parents are supposed to play important role in forming of the habits of their children. Kids take an example from adults, so if parents are used to doing exercises, their children will see it and get used to doing it as well. Parents must spend more time with children and confine wasting time on computer.

In conclusion, although students tend to enjoy spending time on games on the computer, adults have to teache them to do sports. Workout and playing both must take them equal time, then it will not be such huge problem at this time.