Some young people are leaving the countryside to live in cities and towns, leaving only old people in the villages. What are the problems with this issue? What can be done to solve this?

The urbanization is becoming a major issue, nowadays. Many youngsters are migrating towards cities by leaving behind their grandparents in the countryside. There are some considerable causes in this situation. In this essay, I will delineate the root causes of this problem along with their solutions.

To begin with, there are various prominent factors for the migration of youth to the cities. One of these issues is infrastructure as there is a limited number of qualified schools and universities in the villages for higher studies, which influence the youngsters to move into the cities. Although, the job opportunities and a better lifestyle of urban areas have triggered the people to become residents of towns in spite of the rural areas. Take the case of India, for instance, the modern generation have been preferred to live in the metropolises such as Delhi as they are getting advanced education facilities as well as part-time jobs in these cities, without any hassle. Moreover, the communication gap of adults with their old parents goes on increasing, which deattached themselves not only from their roots but also from the family values. Hence, the practice of urbanization for the betterment of the future has been escalating.

Nevertheless, there are some feasible solutions to mitigate the problem of movement of people to the cities and towns. Firstly, the administration should emphasize on the infrastructure of villages by implementing some multi-purpose projects to curtail the ratio of unemployment. In addition to this, public transportation and welfare facilities should be improved, though people could not approach the cities of their basic needs. For illustration, the government of Finland has been instilling the dairy and textile industries in the undeveloped regions of the country in addition to transportation resources. Therefore, the level of employment and security is being improved significantly. Secondly, the relationships of different age groups could be strengthened by fulfilling the common demands of individuals, within the villages.

To summarize, the causes of migration towards cities by young people with their possible solutions are discussed. It has been categorically highlighted that the job requirements and lifestyle standards are attracting the people toward cities and government should reduce this by providing similar facilities inside the villages. It is being hoped that the nation would address this problem as a predominant issue in the future.