Stress is now a major problem in many countries around the world. What are some of the factors in modern society that cause this stress, and how can we reduce it?

Although not a new phenomenon, stress seems to have become synonymous with modern lifestyles, and it can have dire consequences for both mental and physical health. Infact, it is a serious concern in many countries. This essay will elucidate further what I consider to be the two main causes of stress and suggest ways to manage it.

Certain features of modern society tend to induce stress.One is the stream of information about local and world events bombarding us daily. Since the advent of the internet and, more recently, smartphones, such events have become inescapable. These constant notifications about a friend's personal crisis or a nature disaster somewhere in the world can elicit feelings of helplessness and, in turn, anxiety. The modern workplace also exacerbates stress, for much the same reason. Whereas the working day used to end at 5.30 p.m. in most cultures, now, employees, regardless of their position, are contactable and often actively working well beyond normal work hours. Indeed, it is not uncommon for people to do over 60 hours per week, despite being paid for 38.

Reducing this everyday stress, however, is possible. The first step is to disconnect. When it comes to our phones and devices, we must curb our use of them, turn off notifications, and physically switch off not only from work, but also sometimes from the news cycle and social media. If we don not set these boundaries, the invasion of the outside world into out personal and mental space will only grow, inevitably leading to stress and related illnesses. The other key factor relates to lifestyle. Mental health experts agree that exercise plays a major role in stress management. This includes rigorous activity like running or boxing, but even low-impact exercise like yoga and Pilates can be beneficial. Ultimately, reducing stress involves protecting our private time and prioritizing our own health.

To conclude, stress in undoubtedly a serious and pervasive problem, compounded by modern technology and work patterns. It is therefore up to the individual to manage their time, devices and lifestyle in order to keep stress levels down.