Students in school and university learn far more from lessons with their teachers compared to other sources, such as television or the internet. Do you agree or disagree?

By the innovation of new education methods, the requirement of face to face teaching has become more controversial than ever. Many experts still advocate attending in classes, while others believe self-study and other new learning methods would be more helpful.

Getting together in a classroom and listening to the teacher's lecture is a favourite method of education worldwide, even though it is a traditional one. Education is not just receiving information, but collaboration with others. Friendship as well as competition help students to boost their knowledge to a great level. A professional teacher can charge a student with a positive pulse that nothing else can do. According to a research done at the University of Michigan, those who based their learning on teacher's follow-up gained better social happiness which led them to a better success in their future life. Anyhow the side effects of absolute dependency on teachers and school curriculums should not be overlooked.

Thanks to the Internet and new innovative learning methods resulted by information technology, students are becoming less and less dependent to physical classrooms. Moreover, the huge amount of knowledge that is changing and updating every day, sometimes cannot be provided in just some sessions of classes. Nowadays many people share their knowledge and information via social media that are categorized and accessible at a high level. In such situations, traditional learning methods might not keep pace with the high rapid of knowledge rate which is inevitable in many fields. As an example, in software development, seldom do seniors rely only on teachers lectures when it comes to a high proficiency level. The more students practice to lessen their dependency on their teachers and keep themselves updated in their knowledge field, the better opportunities they may gain in their future jobs.

Overall, it seems although attending in school or university classes is essential for students for their base knowledge and learns how to cooperate with each other, the miracle of self-esteem helps them to gather more novel data from internet and other data providers. This can be a competitive advantage among others.