Tests and examinations are a central feature of school systems in many countries.

Do you think the educational benefits of testing outweigh any disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this modern era, there is an ongoing deliberation among people on the advantages and disadvantages of the evaluation systems used in schools. While some people argue that, the benefits outweigh disadvantages, on my point of view I disagree with that argument. In this essay, I shall discuss factors in strengethening my argument while analyzing both sides of it.

First and foremost, examinations make myriad of disadvantages, to students such as depression, no time for extra curricular activities and etc. For instance, if examinations held at the end of the course students tend to by herd all the lessons irrespective of understanding the lesson. In addition, they may give up extra curricular acivities because that would not help them for their examinations. Apart from that, lecturers may find difficulties in evaluating practical subjects through written examinations such as aesthetics and technological subjects. Therefore, there is a high risk of creating a person with issues in personality to the society, who can destroy the well beingness of it.

On the other hand, some people argue favourably on the advantages of examinations because, it is the easiest mehod in evaluating students. However, assesment based evaluation mitigate the depression and reduce the work load to some extent. In fact, students are encouraged to engage in studies in a continoues manner. For example, most of the universities around the world use continuos assesment systems as there student evaluation method.

In conclusion, it is recommended to use examinations for theoratical subjects in continous assesment method in order to facilitate students to carry out their extra curricular activities without making any disturbances to their studies. It is also believed, that governments must restructure their academic curriculum and evaluation systems to promote above mentioned strategies in the national education system.