There is an increasing number of serious crimes committed each year. While some people say that the best way would be to use the death penalty as a deterrent, many say that other measures would be needed. Discuss both sides and opine.

Serious crimes is a burning issue and it has increased at an alarming rate. However, there are predominantly two contrasting views where one section of the society vehemently deems that to prevent the rate of crime from being increasing death punishment should be implemented while other emphasize some other methods could be applied. In my opinion, counselling and rehabilitation of criminals can substantially reduce rate of crime.

Apparently, various factors makes a section of society advocate death penalty is the best way to put a full stop on crime and have reasons to substantiate it. Firstly, people will fear the outcome after wrong doing if they will know that it could take their life. In other words, before committing any big crime a person will think twice as life is precious for everyone. Not only it will make people cultured but also it will be a ideal for judiciary system of a nation as the victim has not to wait for a long time for justice. Dubai being the prime example, applies the verdict of death penalty in any case of crime which significantly reduced the rate of crime.

Nevertheless, wrongdoers should be given a chance to improve themselves by applying some other ways for myriad reasons. Chiefly, most people undertake criminal activities because of lack of employment opportunities and detachment from society. In other words, they could be sent to rehabilitation centers and proper counselling should be done so that they can also live a normal life. Although death punishment is quite an efficient tool, no one has the right to life of person without giving him a second chance. If offenders are given a chance with proper guidance it will act as a key influencing factor in molding them into good citizens.

In my profound opinion, despite death penalty is quite easy way to decrease crime rate, the added advantage of adopting other ways cannot be overlooked.