There is no doubt that English language has become a dominant language in the world. Many countries consider English as their second language such as Pakistan and India. This essay will highlight the some of the major benefits and drawbacks of English becoming the one universal language in the world.

There is no doubt that the English language has become a dominant language in the world. Many countries consider English as their second language such as Pakistan and India. This essay will highlight some of the major benefits and drawbacks of English becoming the one universal language in the world.

To commence with the positives, one significant advantage is that it would enable greater understanding between countries. If there is only one spoken language, there will be ease of communication between not only countries but all the people throughout the world, which would promote the flow of information, learning, and ideas. Besides the good understanding, one language would enhance the economy. With all the people speaking one language, there would be few barriers and therefore trade would flourish between countries, resulting in higher economic growth.

On the other hand, one global language does have drawbacks. The most obvious one is that culture and diversity will diminish along with its language. Every country has its own language, culture and norms which defines their identity. If the language is disappeared, the identity of the people which define them will be lost forever. Furthermore, it would result in the collapse of the tourism industry. The main reason for tourism is cultural diversity. There would be no reason to travel if all the countries had the same language and similar culture. As a result, the economy of the country which only relies on tourism will be devastated.

In conclusion, although one global language in the world has benefits in terms of good understanding and economic growth, it is important to consider that it adversely affects the culture, tradition, and tourism industry.