With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In recent years, reading books on electronic devices such as mobile phones and computers has risen in popularity. Many people claim that this trend is the progressive approach while others see this as a negative development. This essay will highlight some of the benefits and drawbacks of this trend.

To commence with the positive, one significant advantage is the convenience of handling and reading e-books. Thousand of e-books can easily be stored in one mobile phone, which is no bigger than the size of your palm. For instance, people can carry the whole library wherever they go with a small mobile phone. Moreover, it is easily accessible from anywhere around the world since one can easily download e-books from the internet while staying at home. Besides its convenience, it is affordable. Many online websites provide free access to their material or charge minimal fees for a monthly or annual subscription.

On the other hand, e-books do have drawbacks. The most obvious disadvantage is that it is unhealthy. This is because watching a mobile or tablet screen for a prolonged period puts a strain on the reader’s eyes. To make matters worse, it can weaken eyesight if used for a longer period of time. In addition to it, mobile phones and tablets are not reliable because they are more prone to cyber-attacks and have high chances of losing the data. As a result, traditional books are way better than e-books for avid readers.

In conclusion, despite the benefits of e-books in terms of convenience and affordability, the drawbacks of weakening eyesight and reliability should also be taken into consideration.