With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

With the recent technological advancements, the proportion of e-book users are rapidly increased, resulting in less demand for paper books. While it is argued whether this trend has positive impacts on our life, I will elaborate on both advantages and disadvantages in detail.

On the one hand, by people's reading trend has moved toward the digital era, there are certain drawbacks. Firstly, digital books tempt people to other distractions like visiting websites or looking up links rather than focusing on the book they are reading. To cite an example to this, I personally easily get distracted by other applications, such as messenger, SNS, or even perhaps various mobile games I often enjoy when I read a book through my mobile phone. Secondly, paper books used to be a sort of inspiration. With the disappearance of full of books and topics on the shelf, people are no longer able to inspire and stimulate their imagination. Lastly, reading through a screen instead of a paper would cause more strain of eyes. In other words, digital books are likely to stress our eyes, damaging our vision eventually.

On the other hand, people's lifestyle is certainly beneficial by increased ebook's popularity, especially in the aspect of convenience. The one fundamental advantage is people are released from the weight of physical books carrying for reading. Instead of that, using light, functional electronic gadgets, like a smartphone or tablet, gives people a broad range of access to reading materials without carrying it. Moreover, ebook reader apps have various useful functions that users would love. For example, people can easily search additional information related to the materials of the books or even change the size of the letters or the color of the background of a reader.

In conclusion, people's reading style has definitely changed from paper to digital format, and it has significant impacts on people's life in both negative and positive ways.