These days, in many countries, fewer and fewer people want to become teachers, particularly in secondary schools. What are the reasons for this, and how could the problem be solved?

Recently, a trend has been observed about the sudden decrease in the number of secondary teachers. Nowadays, very few people are interested to join this noble profession. this thorny issue has raised a bone of contention. this essay will explain a few reasons and throw some light on the solutions.

Firstly, the main problem contributing to the lack of interest in this profession is low remuneration. In other words, we can say the teachers are not paid up to the mark. They are rewarded almost nothing against their time and effort, what they put in working on their every student. For example, according to the survey conducted in Vietnam, teachers are compensated just above the average. raising the basic salary can attract more people to this occupation. In addition, to make both the ends meet, they have to work extra hours also such as in tutorial centres, taking or giving home tuitions. And owing to this, their personal life also goes for a toss, the reason being after working for about 9-10 hours, they have to check their student's notebooks as well. Preparing for the next day’s lectures that alone is sufficient to increase the stress levels.

Secondly, students behaviour is another cause that magnifies the problem and makes people difficult to choose to teach as a line of work. Since one has to deal with adolescents and their volatile and brash behaviour is enough to feel dejected and indignant. such misbehaviour and misdemeanour do little to appeal anyone towards this profession.

In summary, lower remuneration disinterests a person to join the occupation which can be resolved by increasing the wages. Overwork needs to be balanced by improvising the work-life balance. difficult behaviour by teenager needs to be rectified. All in all, solving the above-mentioned problems can appeal to people to join the teaching profession.