Today, due to advanced medicine people are living longer. Because of this older people are projected to outnumber younger people. Do the advantages of this development outweigh disadvantages.

Healthcare is a fundamental need of the citizens of a country. Today, due to development in medical science, average life expectancy has increased, and thus, predictions state that elderly people, in the future, can overshadow the youth population. This essay will throw a light on both the pros and cons of it.

To begin with, the longer life expectancy gives us the opportunity to serve our country for a longer period and enjoy life here on earth. Secondly, Old age people can overlook the grandchildren while the parents are busy working in any family. Thus, it can lead to better nourishment of cultural and traditional values, which can be a vital role in shaping the future of a country.

On the other hand, due to longer lives, the population will rise which can be an extra burden on the resources available. The government has to pay pensions to older people which will put extra pressure on public money. Furthermore, there will be lesser opportunities for the younger people which will result in the unemployment of the youth. As a result of which countries like Germany have to import younger people from other countries for a stable economy.

To conclude, increasing the population of the older generation may result in a burden to the society and the government but at the same time, it can not be neglected that it has its own benefit in building a better nation and a better world. Hence, it is a treasure to have older people and thus it is government's as well as our duty to provide facilities and to look after them.