Tourism is becoming increasingly important as a source of revenue to many countries, but its disadvantages should not be overlooked. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advances in transportation modes has made traveling very cheap and easy. Now more and more people are travelling as compared to the past. Some school of thought believe that excursion has become a main source of profit for many nations. Nevertheless, it’s drawback should not be ignored. I also sympathies with the critiques of the statement. I will elaborate my view-point in the upcoming paragraphs.

To begin with, the main disadvantage of tourism is tourist some time do not respect the historical monuments which they are visiting. Vacationers often harm such properties with their careless activities such as throwing the garbage and disrespecting the values of such places. To exemplify, a survey to find out the behavior of tourist revealed that many tourists misuse their privileges and try to harm the feelings of indigenous by disrespecting their culture and beliefs. Thus, such irresponsible acts from excursionists side is damaging the historical buildings.

Furthermore, many traveler do fraud with the local people which creates a distrust among people. They get indulge in various illegal activities for their financial benefits such as theft and violence. It is not true for all the people just few unsocial elements who are involved in such activities. For instance, in a report of Tourism ministry, it was mentioned that now more foreigners are committing crimes because of increased tourism as compared to the past and they have implemented some rules to overcome these troubles. Therefore, illegal activities of travelers undermine the trust of people.

To recapitulate, there are numerous demerits of increase in tourism which are not beneficial for any nation. People should take care about their behaviors while travelling otherwise it will hamper the name and fame of their country.