Tourism is an ever-growing industry. What benefits and drawbacks do you think tourism brings to individuals and society?

It is undeniable that tourism is a leading industry in every country. In fact, tourism not just benefit a single individual, but a whole community. However, I believe that tourism both has its own advantages and disadvantages to people and society.

The first advantage of tourism is it brings huge economic benefits to the national economy as it yields billions of dollars per year. Not only does it appeal to local residents, but it attracts foreign visitors as well, which is a big source of foreign currency. An additional advantage of this industry is that it raises our living standards to new heights. For example, the jobless have more employment opportunities and the wealthy can have good trips which help them relax and extend their knowledge. Another benefit of tourism is that it is the bridge that connects us with the outer world. If we demand honor, respect, and admiration from foreign countries, it is inevitable to enhance our image through this industry.

The greatest disadvantage of tourism is environmental problems. For example, tourism can often cause environmental damage such as erosion, pollution, and the loss of natural habitats. Even if tourists behave responsibly, they can still cause damage. Another negative aspect of this industry is foreign poaching. Most of the tourism industry in a developing country is owned by big foreign companies. They make the major profits, leaving local businesses with relatively little benefit. Another drawback of tourism is cultural clashes. For instance, tourists often lack respect for local traditions and culture, refuse to follow local dress standards, or behave rudely or inappropriately towards locals.

In conclusion, there is no doubt that tourism is a mixed bag of benefits and drawbacks. While tourism may have some negative aspects, I believe they are outweighed by the more significant positive aspects.