Due to the coronavirus, all schools have been closed, making both students and teachers use electronic devices to study online. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend? Write an essay of at least 250 words to support your arguments.

It is a fact that the coronavirus pandemic has caused all schools to close, leaving students and teachers to study online. In my opinion, this trend would create certain benefits but there will also be some drawbacks.

On the one hand, it is clear that both students and teachers would enjoy the benefits of online learning. One evident strength of online learning is that it provides students with a flexible schedule and less expensive learning. Students can study at their suitable time with electronic devices from their homes, which does not cost as much as direct teaching. Another point in favour of distance teaching and learning is that it offers easier attendance for both teachers and students. It means that they do not need to spend time going to classes as they can teach and study comfortably at home with internet connection.

On the other hand, some obvious disadvantages would arise as a result of distance learning. Firstly, students and teachers can be excessively exposed to devices' screens. Excessive screen time would certainly have a negative influence on their health, for example, eye strain and back problems due to incorrect sitting positions. Secondly, digital learning can result in a loss of concentration. Since classes can be done through electronic gadgets, students can easily move to social media and other websites for entertainment and they will not fully focus on the lesson, thus leading to serious knowledge gap.

In conclusion, as a result of the coronavirus outbreak, students and teachers have to conduct online classes. This trend could bring about certain benefits, but its negative consequences should not be overlooked.