Water is a natural resource that should always be free. Governments should ban the sale of bottled water. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

water is essential for human survival. Some people argue, it is a natural resource, therefore, the government should ban the sale of bottled water. I completely disagree, because, although water is available in abundance there is a lot of effort required to refine and pack water into a bottle for the use of the public.

drinking water supplied requires packaging and processing. The plants are set up for processing which includes filtering, refining, and packaging. Labour is employed by companies for running these units, and it requires money to run these operations. thus charging for packaged water is necessary to keep these firms running. For instance, according to a study conducted by a university, packing 1-liter water into a bottle requires 3 hours and processes such as reverse osmosis, boiling, and cooling etcetera. therefore, implying charges are necessary and consumers should not mind paying a small amount.

Another benefit of this is the reduction in wastage of water. As water is considered an unlimited resource people waste a lot of water. A price tag on a water bottle helps in reducing the wastage, they think before wasting it unnecessarily. A recent survey indicated, 30 percent of drinking water is wasted every month, due to which drought-prone areas are suffering and people travel several kilometers to fetch it. Moreover, small charges also help in the reduction of single-use plastic. The water is mainly supplied in use and through plastic containers which are harmful to our environment, therefore, price-tag helps in reducing it.

To conclude, water is significant for every living creäture, it must be according to need and wastage should be banned, thus charging for canned water is fair and necessary.