Wedding are bigger and more expensive in many others at present than in the past. Why is this the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

These days people are spending huge amount of money on marriage occassions in almost all the part of the world. There are numerous factors for this expenditure. While people may have valid reasons for putting money lavisly, but I assert that this trend has detrimental effects on both individuals and society.

Pitching into the first are of discussion, the predominant reason for this expenditure is show off to the society, nowadays people wants to maintain their social status and display their financial status among the society. For example the trend of opting destination wedding is becoming popular among youth. They take their friend and relatives to the specific location for celebrating their special day. The choice of destination display their marriage budget and catches people's attention. Apart from this, youngsters want to have the memory of their weeding day and the best way to capture moments have the video and pictures of the marriage day, which force them to spend lavisly on this. Because of this social and emotional reason people become extravagent while planning their marriage budget.

However, this trend of putting excess money on wedding is not at all a wise option. People has to think about their future and try to nest their money for the future need. They can save the money and use it in much better way like providing education and quality life to their childrens. Marriage is all about love and harmony among the partner. Spending more money will not going to help them to have a better life. Moreover, many people are not economically sound enough to spend on this single day function. Many times they feel neglected from the community and leading to lack of social life for them. Therefore, this trend is having adverse effects on both people and community.

In conclusion, unequivocally nowadays spending on marriages are becoming increasingly popular than the previous years, but it is not all beneficial in any way and much better to save money for further use.