You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead.

To what extent do you agree with this statement??

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Write at least 250 words.

Over time, governments of some countries have been financing the entertainment industry. Investing in music and theatre is considered as an extravagant way of spending by some people; l am in total support with these individuals who opine that more investment should be expended on educational and healthcare facilities.

First, the authorities should ensure they pay sufficient attention to providing standard healthcare amenities to their citizens. It is believed that an unhealthy mind and body would never think of having pleasure but craves for a healthy heart. Therefore, the well being of human beings should be placed above any other non-essential sector. The Nigeria government is an example, one of its political agenda is to combat terrorism and ensure a secured economy. Consequently, billions of Nigeria currency (naira) had been squandered on purchasing weapon and ammunition amidst bribery and corruption.

Secondly, the level of education in some countries is not commensurate with what is obtainable in other developed nations. Education should be free, available to all and sundry. Also, the best educational infrastructure should be put in place for its citizen. Many governments of the globe are not performing in this aspect. For example, it is salient that in Nigeria, public school’s teachers are not well remunerated and the school buildings are in a deplorable state. If the government could strive proactively in this sector, it would reduce the numbers of people travelling abroad to study.

It is true that entertainment sector such as music, theatrical production also contributes to the economy by generating revenue through tax paid by musicians and comedians, however, it is still not a total remedy to a weakened, uneduacted mind. Government venturing a huge sum of money in it would not bring the revenue that is synonymous to the expenses incurred. This industry is not an essential service to the populace.

To conclude the above speculations, the government of every developing nation should look towards investing in essential services such as healthcare and educational facilities because a sound mind (both healthily and educationally) is believed to profitable and comfortable.