The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Friendship is an element that is set to have great influences on our lives due to the amount of time we spend with our friends. A debate surrounding the issue whether maintaining a small group of friends over a long period of time is playing a significant role for our happiness than a large number of them has witnessed many controversies. Some people think that there is no connection between the numbers of friends with our joyfulness. On the other extreme of the rope, others assume that more friends mean more fun. I, for one, subscribe to the first opinion and strongly believe that the quality of friendship is what makes it valuable. In what follows, I will aptly substantiate my view point.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that human is per se sociable. In other words, it is in our instinct that we like to spend our time with our friends, those who have same interests and concerns as us since we assume that they understand us more than our family members. It goes without saying that with the galloping rate of technology making connection with people becomes so easy since our lives are mostly surrounded by internet and its colorful apps. However, the main point is how profound these relationships are. In fact, our visual friends are not thrust worthy enough to share our secrets and fears with them since they are not sincere. Statics have shown that a high portion of teenagers are betrayed and used because of their wrong perception about their internet friends.

Alongside with the first reason elaborated above happiness is an issue that is connected with the value of people around us. As a matter of fact, when there are friends who we can rely on we become truly satisfy with our friendships. It is crystal clear that the smaller the number of friends the more valuable they are. In contrast, someone who is able to make many friends cannot make genuine and profound connection since she/he does not spare real time with them. Another positive ramification resulting from deep friendship is that no matter how hard life will become we are sure that there is someone we can lean in.

All in all, a meticulous look over what have been discussed reveals the fact that maintaining a deep friendship is what we can get by having long life friends, those who makes us really happy with their existence.