Do you agree with the following statement?

Grandparents cannot give useful advice to their grandchildren because the world of today and the world of 50 years are too different.

The statement claims that grandparents are not able to provide their grandchildren with useful advice due to the difference between the past and the present. However, as far as I am concerned, the difference doesn't necessarily hinder the recognition of our parents and grandparents can indeed offer useful advice to grandchildren.

First and foremost, individual's life is not perfectly functioning like a machine, from setup and retirement. Actually, everyone including our grandparents manages to keep breast with the trend and keeps learning in stead of following the destiny passively. Therefore, the difference between the life fifty years ago and the current will not inhibit the motivation of progress. For instance, many scientists win the Nobel Prize at an old age, which means time is not able to retire people. In addition, ordinary old people are still trying their best to learn new technologies and understand the world of youngsters.

Moreover, even though time can fade the muscles and flexibility, our grandparents are still equipped with precious experiences that can still contribute to the current world and their grandchildren. For example, our grandparents used to use calculus to assist the calculation and to day we use mobile calculator. The device has changes with increasing complex of the forthcoming problems. However, the theories behind the process of the calculation and the way to analyze the problems remain the same because the technology development in the past decades only serves to accelerate our production and intensify the scale of problems. So we can still learn from our grandparents, such as the analysis process and the philosophy.

Last but not the least, asking advice from grandparents also provides the chance to improve the family relationships. When grandparents retire, the least thing they want to feel is the isolation from the society and family. However, if grandparents can ask grandparents for advice on issues such as social relationships, international news or even the career preparation, grandparents will feel less lonely and acquire the sense of being needed. In this way, grandchildren can help their grandparents acquaint the society again.

In conclusion, time doesn't necessarily stop grandparents learning the modern trend and their precious experience can still contribute to the next generations. What's more, grandparents can benefit from offering advice, which give them the sense of being needed.