Do you agree or disagree with the following?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends

In recent times, friends play a crucial role in people's life. Many people thus, propose that it is a tremendous opportunity if one has friends that will make life more meaningful to them. I disagree with the idea that it is more necessary to keep your old friends instead of associating with new buddy. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, making new friends will help to be exposed to new things. Indeed, the old dude will always do things using an archaic method. There are some new ideas that one's old friend may not have which is important and more valuable to people's life. However, making new buddy might help getting the latest and newest information that one needs for revolution. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. The moment I gained admission into university, I forgot about my old friends that we finished secondary school together and mingled with another group of people. These new friends of mine enlightened me and show me the modern way of doing things like mode of dressing, attending night club party. This I never experienced in my life with my old friends and this made me enjoy my campus life without any regret. Therefore, making new friends will help to innovate new ideas and be updated.

Secondly, associating with new friends that don’t know your past experience will make you feel free. Certainly, your old friend will know more or all about one's secret. This can make people to always feel depressed or worried because of their past. Nevertheless, making new friends will surely erased all one's shame because they will not have clue of whatever has happened in the past. For instance, one of my friends in school narrated her story to me when she was in village. She told me how she was impregnated by her teacher and the man rejected the pregnancy and how she was mocked by her friends in the village. That's why she left the village for city where she met me and we became a good friend. If she didn't tell me the story I will never know anything of such has occurred to her in the past.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that, it is not necessary to keep our old friends because the new friends will make us to be exposed and will not know about our past experience