Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Friendships could be like a boat floating in the sea where storms may appear quite often and the boat with genuine friendship could last forever and I believe this kind of friendship with only a small number of people can be the most valuable. Therefore, making friends with a few people for a long a time can contribute to more happiness when compared with the ability of making new friends.

To begin with, in a small group with only a few people, we can help each other more frequently and effectively. For instance, in middle school, I usually discussed difficult math problems with Brandon and Amy after school. Before the exam, we could help each other solve problems and work together to make plans. This friendship lasted until we attended university in different provinces. Until now, we still keep in contact with each other though we are in different majors. This is incredibly the happiest moment I will never forget.

Besides, we can share our real feelings with our friends. Friends can motivate me when I am depressed and encourage me when I feel desperate. In our life, the real friendship doesn't necessarily equal the number of friends, but those friends we can genuinely talk with and they can be our listeners. For example, in the last semester, I failed one subject called structural mechanics. I was extremely worried about being criticized by my parents. And I told my friend Jackson about this and he didn't scold me for not working hard, but instead said that this exam was just a lesson which would teach me how to adapt myself to the new college life. Jackson used his patience to encourage me and I successfully passed all the exams in the following three years with Jackson's help, which I contend could be more significant for happiness than making more new friends.

Furthermore, while new friends could bring more opportunities, they could not provide us with more happiness for the following reason. When we have so many friends we might lose ourselves to cater for different people. Nearly two hundred students major in civil engineering in my university, and it is easy to make more than ten friends. However, ten friends mean ten different characteristics and it is difficult to consider all feelings when we are having fun. And it is possible that some people may feel uncomfortable and unwilling to continue this friendship.

In a nutshell, while the ability to make new friends easily may benefit us in our social life, it cannot bring much more happiness than the ability to maintain friendships with only a few friends for a long time.