Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Maintaining a healthy relationship between people might be very difficult nowadays . There are many aspects of our interactions with others we should to worry about. In my opinion, there are times that telling the truth is not the best thing to do. I fell this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, sometimes being honest with some people and not telling them the truth, can encourage them to achieve their wishes. Whatever they are attending, people could be more motivated if they think it is possible to gain a brilliant result. My friend Fred was an example of this. Last year, Fred signed up for a runner competition in my city. He did not used to run a lot but he was convinced that he could win the race even if he competed with high level of runners. I knew that he would struggle to even finish the event, but I wanted him to feel confident about his ability. However, when he asked my opinion I lied saying that he had a chance of finishing in the top of ten. As a result, it gaves him motivation to keep training and dream about his position in the end of the race. If I had told him the truth, maybe he had gave up.

Secondly, telling the truth can lead to high level of anxiety. If we tell truths all time, we may spend hours or even days worrying about how unpleasant we were. An example of it happened with me last week. A friend of mine got a new hair cut, she was really happy with that and she came to my house to show it to me and she also asked if I had liked her new hair, I just said no because it did not combined with her face. Tought she did express anger about I said, I knew she was upset. As a result, I spent the rest of the day thinking about how bad were these words and my productivity at work also was reduced that day because I could not stop thinking how I should say sorry to her. I could avoid theses feeling if I had said she was looking gorgeous.

In conclusion, I believe that there are times that it is best to not tell the truth to keep a good relationship between people. This is because lies can motivate people to perform well, and it can also avoid personal turmoil.