Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

To improve the quality of education, universities should spend more money on salaries for university professors.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Education is very important for universities. Actually, it is not only critical for universities but also students and society. Education gives people knowledge and skills. People with qualification are more likely to find a job, earn high salary and contribute postively to society. A degree can open the door to better employment prospects since economies are becoming knowledge-based. Nowadays, universities want to spend some money to improve their education quality. So, what is the best way for improvement. Although professors play a significant role in colleges, in my view, I disagree with this statement. My reasons will be explained below.

For professors, this change will be not to improve their educational performance and they will maintain status quo. This because professors regard these increasing salaries as annual increments and they will not be more motivated. Moreover, they will still parrot the information in textbook with passion and adding some up-to-date information. Thus, the quality of education in universities will not be improved. In my causal conversation with friends and their parents, indicate they worry about the increasing salaries of professors. In fact, professors already have high salaries which is beyond other industries. However, reflect of parents show they are irresponsible for students education becasue in universities, students playing smart phone in class is very common but professors do not control inappropriate behavior that happen in class. Therefore, if they cannot deal with this thing, how they can improve their quality of education. Admittedly, high salary can attract some professors who have good academic postdoctoral fellows. However, they do not have a lot of skills for education and having outstanding academic performance do not mean they are good at teaching as well. Sometimes, devoting themselves to univeristy education whole life can teach students well, which need a lot of time.

From another perspective, there are better alternative for improvement of university education, such as building an advanced laboratory, constucting college library or hiring assistant professor. Laboratory is very important among universities, espesically STEM. For example, there are a multitude of physics experiments need to do for undergraduate and this can stimulate their to have a further understanding about theoretical concept. Therefore, it is indirect to help university education. Library is also useful because students can borrow plenty of books no cost. Furthermore, students can go to libraries to search or process some information through looking for professional books or prestigious jouranl. Due to this experience, it will put them at the forefront of new science. Assistant professors are very common among universities because they accompany with students a longer time than professors. In the top universities, they play a role to solve the problem that students find in professors' assignment. Also, their salaries are lower than professors', which is cost-effective.

In conclusion, although university administration decide to spend more money on professors' salaries than before, they would not make more effort and show greater dedication, especially when they can manage their class order today. On the other hand, there are several choice that seem to be plausible to enhance effectiveness of teaching, like adding new building of laboratory and library or employing assistant professor.