Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for students to study history and literature than it is for them to study science and mathematics. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

People study to improve their knowledge. Some people believe that studying history and literature is more important than studying science and mathematics, however; I do not agree with this statement for several reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First, science and mathematics are useful in our life. To be specific, science can explain a lot of phenomena that happened in our daily life such as the sound of the thunderstorm is followed by the light because the speed of light is faster than the sound. While studying mathematics can improve ourselves in money management. For example, my uncle is good at stock investment because he knows the meaning behind the numbers in the chart and can analyze it correctly. He always makes big profits by investing.

Second, studying science and mathematics give us the sense of achievement. To illustrate, I love to study mathematics while I was in high school. Every time I solved a math problem, I will feel the sense of achievement because I figured out the answer by myself. As for science, I love to do science experiment because it is interesting and can improve my knowledge. I love to use the microscope to observe the shapes of the cells from different plants. When the teachers wanted us to find out what plant it is by observing its cells through the microscope, I felt confident and pleasant if I answered it correctly.

Finally, it is true that studying history and literature can increase our intellectual and writing ability. Not only can we learn from the historic events and people by studying history and literature, but also improve our ability in writing good essays because we know many things that can rich the content. Nevertheless, it does not mean that studying history and literature is more important than science and mathematics since they both have their own values.

In conclusion. I do not agree with the statement that studying history and literature is more important than science and mathematics due to the reasons mentioned above.